The shoes, the degree, the ummm hat thingy?

So I’ve had some krumthoughts going through my head for the past two weeks but not enough time to post them.  Now thanks to a case of the 4:30 am throwups I should have plenty of time to complete this blog post before everyone else wakes up.  This post seems to be a jumble but I think it all ties together and I hope it gives you as much to think about as it did me.

It’s 5:30 am, and I’m sitting here watching veggie tales with my recently turned 4 year old, hoping that he feels better and wishing that my wife hadn’t finished his glass of milk from when he woke up an hour ago.  The other day, this same 4 year old, Asher,  my 5 year old, Andon, and I, had a short conversation that went something like this:

Me:    Asher,  do you know you are a child of God?

Asher:  Yes dad, and you are a daddy of God.

Andon:  You are a dad of God, a man of God.

Yep, those kids know how to put the pressure on.

So, as you, my few and faithful readers probably already know, I just started running back around March of this year and I’m preparing myself for a half Marathon on September 1st and a full marathon on November 3rd.  It’s a little intimidating that in a little over 3 months I will be running 26.2 miles straight.  This is something that I am preparing for, in one way or another, every single day.  It will take a lot of work but I know I can achieve it.

To train for my marathon I start out running a total of 26 miles in the first week, with my final run on Saturday, being a total of ten miles.  I work up from this to several weeks of 50 miles each with my final Saturday run being 20 miles. As I was looking at my training program the other day and getting a little nervous about the long runs ahead something occurred to me.   I have lost almost 30 pounds since November and have increased my health greatly, but what I have I done to strengthen myself spiritually?   I am, or at least try to be, a daddy of God, a man of God, yet spiritually I’m still running the same couple of miles every few days.  For my marathon training I can’t just keep running the same 15 miles each week, split between the same 3 days. I have to progress and build up to that 26.2 miles.

Chances are, at some point I will be asked to run some sort of “spiritual marathon” but will I have the strength and endurance to make it to the finish line?  What can I do to train for this spiritual marathon?  In order for us to progress in the gospel, and of course many other aspects of life, we need to be constantly moving and improving.

Leah, likes to point out, since I’ve started exercising, running, and eating healthy, how much my kids like to do the same.  So how important is it that I set a similar example spiritually?  Will they see me training for my spiritual marathon and get that excitement?

Mezamashii…

Some of you have probably heard me talk about my favorite running shoes, my Mizuno Wave Mushas.  They are an awesome pair of minimalist running shoes, in bright, superhero style, colors.  They are light, breath well, super comfy, and awesome to run in.  Recently Mizuno has launched the Mezamashii project.  According to their website, Mezamashii is the Japanese word for eye-opening, or brilliant.”  While I keep hoping for an invitation to this project, in the meanwhile, I have been trying to apply Mezamashii to other aspects of my life.  This last weekend I went with my family to Salt Lake City to celebrate a brilliant run.  The trip was to attend my graduation ceremony for my bachelors degree in accounting.  This has been a long time coming for me.  7 years, 2 schools, and 4 kids later and I finally have my degree. These last 4 years earning my bachelors degree have been tough and doing strictly online & independent learning has been tough.  But I did it!  If you look close at my graduation picture you can see me wearing my super hero running shoes, I did so to symbolize Mezamashii or the brilliant run that was the last 7 years of earning my degree.

Graduation, Asher didn’t want to be in the picture and Ane was sleeping.

So a brilliant run? Mezamashii? Every time I go out running lately I think about what will make this run brilliant. What can I do to push myself a little bit more, to improve, and of course to find joy in what I am doing?

So being a dad of God?  What will I do to make today a brilliant run as a man of God?  What will I do to increase my “distance”  have a faster “pace”, or maybe set a new “PR”?  I’m still working on my “training plan” but I hope to share some insights and lessons learned in the future.  What do you do to strengthen your spiritual muscles?? Please share and comment…

